10
Oct
08

Tattoos and Marriage: smart trend or not?

Tattoo

Pronunciation: \ta-ˈtü\

Function: noun

Inflected Form(s): plural tattoos

Date: 1777

1: an indelible mark or figure fixed upon the body by insertion of pigment under the skin or by production of scars

THIS MEANS IT’S PERMANANT! BUT IS LOVE AND MARRIAGE? WELL, ACCORDING TO CERTAIN COUPLES, IT IS.

Take Nick Cannon and Mariah Carey for instance: Weeks before their wedding they went out and got tattoos of each other’s names. Mariah has a small butterfly at the base of her spine with “Mrs. Cannon” in script as the center line of the butterfly. Nick Cannon has “Mariah” tattooed across his entire upper back in giant half-cursive writing.

How about Jay-Z and Beyonce? She tells “Essence” said that she and Jay have the Roman numeral ‘4’ tattooed on their ring fingers. She says it’s to signify their vows so that if and when they take off their bands a mark of some type is still there. The number four is supposed to be particular to the couple because her birthday is September 4, his birthday is December 4, and their wedding anniversary is April 4.

Real cute but it is real smart?

I DON’T THINK THE IDEA IS TOO SMART, BUT THAT’S MY OPINION…WHAT YOUR’S?

DA DOUBLE R-GIVIN’ IT TO YOU LIVE!!!

20 Responses to “Tattoos and Marriage: smart trend or not?”


  1. 1 kamryn
    October 10, 2008 at 11:53 am

    WELLLLl! i agree in some way! i don’t believe in putting a name. my child’s name and my parents name are the only names i’m getting. I would put something symbolic for someone i love dearly

  2. 2 Eric
    August 9, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    I believe it may seem dumb in the sense that about 50% of marriages end in divorce. but just like a lot of time goes into the decision of getting a tattoo (or there should be a lot of time invested) so is deciding who you are going to marry and be with until “death do us part” that’s usually part of the vows is it not? so each is a huge decision and should be permanent. so why not cement it more by having a permanent reminder of your spouse? names may not be the best choice, but something symbolic that acts as a link to your spouse should not be shunned as just a trend.

  3. 4 AMA
    November 28, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    I think that Nick and Mariah’s tattos are stupid, but Jays and Beyonces can b justified, becauseif they break upthe four can just stand for the day od their birthdays. They have dual meaning.

  4. 5 The INC
    February 18, 2010 at 1:34 am

    i’m big on symbolism but i’d never, ever in 1000 lifetimes have *anyone’s* name tatted on my body.

  5. 6 Anonymous
    February 22, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    SEXXXY WID MARIAH SSSSSSSSSSEXY

  6. 7 hailee allen
    March 31, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    i cant believe yall have tattos im a 12 yr old gurl and na im mad

  7. 8 DIVA
    July 10, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    4 the 12 year old gurl i am 13 nd i am getiin 1 that says diva nd my mom nows her friends takein me nd they gettin 1 2 of course they older my mom dont care

  8. July 13, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    well i think that if they are in love and they are committed to eachother they should do what they want. If a tattoo symbolizes love for them then thats on them. i love there tattoos and i plan to get one when i get married. i have my son and daughter name tattoo on me. And the reason why is because i love them and i love my fiance also and i will get his name too. there is nothing wrong with symbolizing love no matter what way you do it and no matter who you do it for, love is love and it shouldnt matter how you symbolize it. o yeah and they are grown and its there body so they can do what the hell they want.

    words of wisdom from, ladybug

  9. July 13, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    and diva when ever u get a tattoo make sure its something u want regret twenty years from now and make sure it stands for something.

  10. 11 Anonymous
    July 24, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    I think mariah carey nd nick cannon tatoos are cute…….I mean like if dey love each otha really love each otha then wats the problem

  11. November 26, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    wdery to you ilek do pherty

  12. 13 millie
    May 27, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    It is a very crazy idea to tattoo urself with a guy. U guys could get divorced and u will still have tbhe tattoo of your marriage unless u remove the tattoo.

  13. 14 marcy
    November 8, 2011 at 2:08 am

    I don’t see the issue with having tattoos of your spouse on you. Now if you are just dating yes, but u got a ring and its close to the dat, no issue. My husband and I are getting tattoos in a few weeks, we are just trying to see what exactly to get. We want to be different!

  14. 15 Imani
    March 17, 2012 at 11:09 am

    I believe a symbol is smarter than a name. My boyfriend and are are getting matching tattoos that symbolize love in some way but not our names. That away reguardless of how it ends the tattoo doesn’t leave a name of regret of some sort. I also feel a small tattoo like beyonce and Jay is smarter than a big one

  15. May 9, 2013 at 8:46 am

    What’s up, this weekend is fastidious designed for me, for the reason that this occasion i am reading this fantastic informative article here at my house.

  16. May 13, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    I am sure this piece of writing has touched all the internet viewers, its really really fastidious piece of writing on building up new
    blog.

  17. May 30, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    Good day I am so excited I found your weblog, I really found you by
    mistake, while I was browsing on Askjeeve for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a incredible post
    and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  18. June 22, 2014 at 6:38 am

    I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also
    go to see this web site on regular basis to obtain updated from latest reports.

  19. August 23, 2014 at 2:15 am

    I just couldn’t go away your web site before suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the standard info a person provide for your
    guests? Is going to be back steadily to check up on new posts


Leave a Reply

CONTACT US

Archives

TRAFFIC

  • 518,752 VIEWS OF THE SITE

